top of page

Why so Cereal

I have travelled the world, seen the sunset on four continents, eaten snakes in the back alley's of Cambodia. Sipped Old Monk Rum on the beaches of Goa, but nothing compares to my visit to Camden's Cereal Killer café! I was hired by foodie goddess Malak Obaidi to help film a show reel. We visited a few spots but Cereal Killer café was next level. I wasn't ready. I had no idea that the café was a modern day Delorean, taking me back to the last century. Taking me back to the days of Gummy Bears, He- Man , American Tale, S club bloody seven! VHS cases littered the place. For you millennials VHS ( Video Home System) were tape cassettes... tape cassettes were the CDs of the 80s and 90s I digress. It was bright warm and fizzy. Visually it reminded me of Fun House .. oh Pat Sharp, google him. If Carlsberg made mullets. Instead of chairs they had single beds with pillows and quilt covers that had imagines of 90s classics such as Gladiators and Power Rangers. on them. There was even an arcade machine ( which I let Malak beat me on ..cough)

I felt I was back firmly in my childhood all that was missing was my PJams an annoying older brother and a bunk bed . What drew me in even more apart from the lovely cookie and scream milkshake and the wonderful company of Malak, was the music ! As a Radio prince I know all genres but I forget the pure joy of listening to tv show theme tunes. Ducktales oozed out of the speakers causing me to sing it word for word. first of all how do I still remember the lyrics to a show over 20 years old? Secondary what a banger! I will defo be visiting again but trust I will be in my Pjams

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page